Get your free health-tip collections
By entering your information below
Thank you!
First Name 
Your privacy is guaranteed with us.
Click here to see sent health tips  
Body Energy  

The Body’s Energy Pathways – Jingluos

There are twelve main meridians (Jings). Each one belongs to one of the organs, namely: the heart, pericardium (a double-walled sac that contains the heart and the roots of the great vessels), lungs, stomach, spleen, kidneys, liver, large intestine, small intestine, bladder, gall bladder, and SanJiao. In Chinese medicine, Sanjiao is the container for all the organs. The names of these meridians are very significant. Each contains four pieces of information: where, the nature (Yin or Yang), how much Yin or Yang, and which organ each belongs to. The twelve main meridians exist in pairs, symmetric at about the centerline of the body. We only study one of them for each pair, because the other one is the same. Here are the names of the twelve main meridians:

1.Tai Yin lung meridian of the hands
2.Yang ming large intestine meridian of the hands
3.Yang ming stomach meridian of the feet
4.Tai Yin spleen meridian of the feet
5.Shao Yin heart meridian of the hands
6.Tai Yang small intestine meridian of the hands
7.Tai Yang bladder meridian of the feet
8.Shao Yin kidney meridian of the feet
9.Jue Yin pericardium meridian of the hands
10.Shao Yang Sanjiao meridian of the hands
11.Shao Yang gallbladder meridian of the feet
12.Jue Yin liver meridian of the feet

Note: Hands and Feet indicate the locations of the meridians, hand refers to the upper body. The hand meridian runs into the arm and hand. Foot refers to the lower body and runs from the upper body into the leg and foot. The amount of Yin/Yang ranges from large to small: Tai Yin﹥Shao Yin﹥Jue Yin, Yang Ming﹥Tai Yang﹥Shao Yang. When a meridian is Tai Yin meridian, it has the strongest Yin energy in it, the Shao Yin meridian has medium amount of Yin energy in it and the Jue Yin meridian has minimum amount Yin energy. A Yang Ming meridian has the strongest Yang energy in it, the Tai Yang meridian has medium amount of Yang energy and the Shao Yang meridian has the smallest amount of Yang energy in it.

Energy circulates within the meridians by following the direction from 1 to 12 as numbered above. Each meridian has two hours of the most active time every day. We will present the detailed time for each specific meridian in Chapter Three and appendix I. Theoretically, It is best to work on the meridian during its most active time, but this is not practical for those meridians with an active time in the middle of the night. Therefore, for daily health care, you can do the work whenever you have the chance. For medical treatment purpose, follow your doctor’s advice.

Eight Extraordinary Meridians

There are eight extraordinary meridians. Unlike the main meridians, they do not belong to any specific organs, but rather play very important roles in connecting the 12 main meridians. They support the main meridians to help them realize their functionalities and regulate and balance energy and blood flows. If the main meridians are rivers, the extraordinary meridians are their reservoirs. They conserve when the main meridians are full of energy, they irrigate and nourish when there is a need. The basic information about the eight extraordinary meridians is shown in the table below.

Name Location Functionality
1. Conception Vessel The front center line of the body Regulates the energy within all the Yin meridians
2. Governor Vessel The back center line of the body Regulates the energy within all the Yang meridians
3. Chong Vessel On both sides of the Upper body back to the spine, in front up to the mouth Nourishes the energy and blood flow within the 12 meridians
4. Belt Vessel Around the waist line Confines the longitudinal meridians
5. Yin Link Vessel From and along the inner sides of the lower legs going up to the throat Regulates the energy within the six Yin meridians
6. Yang Link Vessel From and along the outer sides of the lower leg going up to the neck and forehead Regulates the energy within the six Yang meridians
7. Yin Heel Vessel From the inner sides of the heels, along the inner sides of the legs, going up to the inner sides of the eyes Regulate the movements of the body muscle
8. Yang Heel Vessel From the outer sides of the heels, along the outer sides of the legs, going up to the inner sides of the eyes

The centerlines of the body are the location of the governor vessel and conception vessel. Their roles in regulating the energy flows are so critical that, they are grouped with the other 12 main meridians and described as the 14 main meridians.

When you sign up today
You will receive a free copy of
Our 64 issues of
Sent health-tip collections
Home  |  About Us  |  Privacy Policy  |  Sent Health Tips  |  Contact us  |  Sitemap
© 2010 Body Food Energy, All Rights Reserved.